Dear Christian, Get Your Ass out of your Nose, Please?

I have known for a while now that I am highly opinionated and un-interested in being politically correct. So for the sensitive, religious mind reading this, you may read at your own risk. Or not.

When I wrote about the Ese Walter affair, I threw in a politically-incorrect analogy of salvation for shock effect. And as suspected, a few of my friends pinged/called to commend my article but request I take the analogy out. Strangers flat out attacked me – all to my amusement. Over 10 paragraphs of deep-rooted issue was discussed and some folks could only major on a one-liner. LOL.

It always amazes me how people, especially us Christians seem to major on the minor and minor on the major. No wonder we can be tossed around by every wind of doctrine and end up an # EseWalter or worse. Like I said in that post, I say again: salvation is personal and we have been instructed to work out our own salvation with fear and trembling.

1239374_10201466889409514_1180736025_n

I recently came across a picture online from the recently concluded Mega-fest where Tyler Perry was laying hands on Bishop Jakes. And typically, the internet spewed out a bunch of sentiments and debates on the rightness or wrongness of the act; some even saying it was his one million dollar offering that bought him the privilege to lay hands on Bishop Jakes. I laugh in Spanish.

When I shared the picture with my wife, she was in awe then I shared with her opinions on the net and I saw a cloud of confusion pass over her face and she looked at me and asked “so is it right or wrong?” and I said who cares?  You see, first of all, who are we to say if it is right or wrong? I have been tremendously blessed by Bishop Jakes and Tyler Perry. The first time I watched a TP movie, I held back my tears because I was among my school chicks that I was tripping for. The next time I watched the same movie alone I let the tears flow. And many of TP’s movie have taught me a thing or two. Likewise, I have been through some broken, busted and disgusted moments in my life and I have gigabytes of Bishop Jakes message that have been a balm in my Gilead. Without a doubt I am a product of Bishop Jakes teaching and I long for the not-too-far day when I also can sign him a million dollar check.

That being said, I know many have riled against Tyler for confessing to be a Christian yet doing the Madea gig. In fact every time my wife and I watch his movie and he happens to be doing a kissing romantic scene she starts shouting at the TV “Tyler you are a Christian ooooo” LOL. I also know that one of Bishop Jakes sons have been arrested for public masturbation and his daughter has recently gone through a divorce. My point is this: should I allow any of these “negatives” in the lives of these people take away from the blessing I receive from them?  If I was invested in the persona, more than the anointing, yes that would mostly likely be my response.

But as I have grown in my relationship with the Holy Spirit I have come to realize that my God is able to minister to me through any means, although I dont listen to just everyone. I am very selective about who ministers to me and my spirit has been trained to filter my rhema from every logos that I hear or see.  But this is where most Christians seem to miss it. We have not be called to be blind believers. We have been called to have child-like faith. And a well-trained child does not open up to every tom, dick and harry. A well-trained child opens up to familiar spirits – they wont talk to or play with a stranger because they are not familiar with them. That’s the same way our faith should be. Even scripture says my sheep know my voice. There is a knowing that is recognised and not taught and our reception of the word of God should be based on the testimony within our spirit, not the man on stage or the ministry.

Scripture also gives us that litmus test to know for sure that we are born-again when it says the holy spirit agrees with our spirit that we are the sons of God. The problem is the spirits of many Christians are asleep and hungry because they have refused to feed themselves but rely on crumbs dropping off the pastors table or the ministrys table. For the love of Christ, get into the word and show yourself a workman approved.

I recently shared a blogpost with my wife during our morning devotion where Imoteda wrote about being blessed by this same Tyler/Bishop episode that has got tongues wagging. While others are debating the rightness or wrongness of Tyler laying hands on Bishop, there is an alert spirit who has filtered through all the razzmatazz to hear a clear and timely word of God. In her own words:

And then i read an article on a blog about Tyler Perry’s $1M donations to TD Jakes church and his mini sermon during which he said this:“Sometimes you spend too much time worrying about your haters. You spend too much time worrying about people talking about you. But what you need to understand is that the Bible says in order for you to be blessed, your haters have to be present. The book of Psalms says he prepareth a table for me in the presence of my enemies. So in order for me to eat, they have to be present.”

Well that put my mind right at ease. Why do I care what people say about me in their spare time? Why am I second guessing my ENTIRE LIFE because some people don’t have enough to do? Who cares who they think I slept with? Regardless of how I got the job (I got recommended and did two interviews and a demo btw) I have the job and I am doing a pretty good job even if I do say so myself. And more jobs will come nit because people want to sleep with me but because this gig will show my strength and lead to better. So thank you Tyler Perry for that. The Lord speaks in strange ways…

Like Imoteda, I see everything around me through the eyes of scripture. And I filter by the testimony of my spirit. Recently, while watching the Big Brother Africa finale with my good friends, Mfon and Femi, they kept dissing me for continuously quoting scripture as I rooted for Dillish Matthews to win the game. LOL. And she did win (2nd part of my Spiritual Lessons from Big Brother Africa’s Dillish Matthews coming up soon)

Anyways, for the debaters and naysayers who insist on being judge and jury over everything Christian, do consider this piece of evidence in Mark 16: 17-18 “And these signs shall follow them that believe…they shall lay hands…” You see, as believers, it is in our nature to lay hands. So whether wrong or right, please get your asses out of your noses and get into the word for yourselves.

I rest my case.

One thought on “Dear Christian, Get Your Ass out of your Nose, Please?

Leave a comment